Home

No more !

January 27, 2009

F. Scott Fitzgerald says that using an exclamation point is like laughing at your own joke. I have been doing exactly this in hundreds, even thousands of emails. I never dared to break the journalism rule re: exclamation points in news articles, but emails were open season.

How mortifying. Comedy is serious business at our house. I married my husband partly because he was the funniest person I ever met. To think that I’ve been doing a bad e-comedy routine…

To borrow from the Act of Contrition I say with my second-grader, who is preparing for his First Communion: “I firmly resolve with the help of the find-replace function to use exclamation points no more and to avoid the near occasion of exclamation points.”

Wonder if my emails will seem less friendly? Will a simple “Thanks.” seem tired? You tell me.

Leave a Reply

